Sunday, December 23, 2007

The 'Matrix' Help For Keyphrase Analysis

Keyword analysis is a major part of search engine marketing.Choose the right key phrase,check the market and calculate the ROI in terms of time and money.I am just trying to redefine "The Boston Matrix" in terms ofkeypharse analysis, hoping that it will help in your investments.There are three steps to it,1. Market2. Competition3. Conversion RatioLet me explain it one by one:-Market: Check different key phrases using suggestion tools likeword tracker,inventory.overture.com/d/searchinventory/suggestion/or www.espotting.com/popups/keywordgenbox.asp , it doesn't have to be perfect as we are just looking for keyphrases with high search shares.Choose as many as possible with promising market.Google's Adword can also be used.Competition: Search in Google or yahoo and see how many sites are listed under respective key phrase search.For example when I search for 'key phrase' in google it says, - Results 1 - 10 of about 4,800,000 for 'key phrase'- this gives the primary idea of the competition. Take the first ten websites in SERP and check the following factors:-1. Back Links (directly proportional to PR)2. Saturation3. Ranked Page's onpage attributes like Title, keyword density etc.Competition is directly proportional to Back Links, saturation and onpage factors but I consider the back links more crucial as achieving better saturation level along with onpage optimization is comparatively easier to obtain.Conversion Ratio: If 100 visits are made to your website from a key phrase, how many will get converted (sigup or buy).For example the key phrase 'mortgage quote' will have higher conversion ratio compared to'mortgage rate' as the person searching for 'mortgage quote' is more likely to signup.Create your own 'Boston Matrix' for keyphrase analysis.Create the matrix in the following way:Take a blank paper and pencil. Draw a square about 10cm X 10cm in size. Divide the square into four equal parts(cells). Each of these cells will denote a type of kephrase.Take X-axis starting from the bottom left corner towards right. Take Y-axis starting from the bottom left corner towards top.Name top two cells as C and D . Name bottom two cells as A and B. X-axis denotes Search Market. Y-axis denotes Competition.Values on X-axis will be from high to low from left to right. Values on Y-axis will be from low to high from bottom to top.Thats it - now you are ready to analyse !C: These key phrases require high investment of time and money but will deliver high in long run. Proper strategy and resources are required.D: ROI is very low, its better to avoid such keyphrases in the initial stage of business but at later stage some keyphrases do well without any investment due to the improved standard of the site.A: Low Competition but high market. It is with High ROI.Target such keyphrases as it generates the money to survive and invest on other cells of the matrix.B: You may choose not to invest at the initial stages of business as many of these keyphrases will automatically make it to top with time without any investment. After making few A's and C's, check the investment required for B.
Summary:In the initial phase of your business invest on 'A's,later invest on 'B's and 'C's. I will advice not to invest on 'D's until it starts appearing in top ranks with time. In marketing we say that retaining a customer is tougher than getting a customer. Similarly if making it to top ranks is tough,then tougher it is to retain the position. So do proper risk analysis at every stage of your online business.

Sunday, December 16, 2007

The Difference Between Google AdWords & AdSense

A lot of people are confused about the difference between Google's AdWords and AdSense programs. And many times, I have seen web sit owners putting AdSense ads on their sites when it really makes no sense to do so. So, I wanted to give you a brief explanation of the differences between the programs and let you know when it does make sense to put AdSense on your site.

AdWords is a pay-per-click advertising program where you bid on keywords and write ads that appear on Google when people type in those keywords. When someone clicks on your ad, you pay Google however much you bid on the keyword.

AdWords can bring your site instant traffic. You've probably seen these ads on Google on the right-hand side of the screen under "sponsored links" whenever you search for something.

The AdWords program is ingenious in the fact that it is one of the only forms of advertising that lets advertisers target people who are looking for the exact thing they carry. If done correctly, a smart Google AdWords campaign can bring highly targeted traffic to your web site.

AdSense is a program that lets Google put AdWord ads directly on your web site. What Google does is determine what your web site is all about and it places text and image ads that are relevant to your web site.

When someone clicks on the ad on your site, you make money.

When You Should Put AdSense On Your Site

As a rule of thumb, AdSense is a good idea if you have a content site (meaning you aren't selling anything). Many people have sites that are informative in nature. Google's AdSense program allows people with these kinds of sites to earn a little (or a lot depending on how popular the site is)of money from the site.

But putting them on your business site is a bad idea.

Here's why:

By putting AdSense ads on your site, you basically become a billboard for your competitors.

Imagine Home Depot putting up a large billboard in front of its store for Lowe's.

That's what a site owner is doing when they put AdSense ads on their site. You are putting up advertising for competitors in your field.

So, remember: if you have a content site, AdSense is a good way to earn a little extra money. But if you're selling something, forget AdSense...

...but by all means use AdWords.

It's a great way to get traffic to your site...in a hurry.

Source: http://www.articlecircle.com/ - Free Articles Directory

Sunday, December 9, 2007

What You Need To Know When Gambling With AdWords

Playing the AdWords game is a very big risk. Why? Because you’d have to spend a certain investment to generate the visitors that you need. For example, you will set a budget of $50 per week, and you have set out to pay the PPC program $0.05 per click. This means that, more or less, your PPC campaign will generate 100 visitors for that week. 100 visitors may not be a lot, but if you’re willing to spend that much, the reasoning that most internet marketers have is: why not? But here’s the catch. How can you be sure that those 100 visitors are what you can consider as quality visitors? How can you be sure that those 100 visitors will actually equate to profit somewhere down the line, if not immediately?

But An AdWords Campaign Can Be Very Profitable

Don’t get me wrong, however. An AdWords campaign can be very lucrative. It can create a windfall of profits for your online enterprise… if you know how to play the game.

The fact is, a lot of people fail with an AdWords campaign because they do not know how to proceed with the same. Whenever you are dealing with opportunities that require a stable and consistent injection of investments, you are playing with fire. If you do not take the necessary precautions, you will get burned.

How Can You Succeed With The AdWords Gamble?

The first step in conquering the AdWords game is in preparing your mindset. If you’re expecting immediate profits, then give up on this option right now. Though immediate sales is very much possible, bear in mind that there are more ways by which you can earn from your AdWords campaign.

The visitors you will be able to generate from your AdWords campaign are good for three things:

1. As immediate customers if they’d decide to buy something from you as soon as they visit your website;
2. As leads you can capture and follow up on so that they may decide for themselves if they’d want to purchase your future offers or not; and
3. As catalysts for a viral marketing campaign which will eventually spread the word about your business – free of charge.

With these in mind, you can now maximize the value of every click. If you’d be willing to pay $0.05 for every click, we must ensure that we get the most out of our $0.05.

Building Your Website Based On The Proper Mindset

Having the determined the true worth of each click, you can now proceed to building a website that will capitalize on everything that every click can offer.

Playing the AdWords game is not just about bidding for keywords and drawing your credit card to pay the program for every visitor they’d send your way. Your website should likewise be optimized to make the most out of every visitor that you will be able to generate.

A direct sales page is great for immediate sales.

But what if your visitors aren’t interested with the products you currently have?

Alas, you can establish an opt-in system and integrate the same in your website. This way, you’d be able to capture the contact details of your visitors so that you can send them an email in the future promoting your other products. You can even use this method to warm them up for a future sale.

You can also give them a valuable product for free. This way, they’d be encouraged to tell the members of their respective network about your website, and you’d be able to generate a lot of new visitors – without spending a single cent this time.

Indeed, you can use your AdWords campaign in such a way that no visitor will be totally lost, even if they won’t decide to purchase any of your offerings for the time being.

Thursday, November 15, 2007

Are You Making The Five Biggest Google Adwords Mistakes?

Are you getting the most out of Google Adwords or are you already doomed?
Even before many people write their first ad, they have already made one of the five killer mistakes that spell disaster for their Adwords campaigns.
Don't be like them. Check out the mistakes below and avoid them.
Mistake One: Targeting the wrong countries
Many people set their Countries and Territories Campaign Settings to 'All Countries and Territories' even though they probably can't sell to all those places. Why pay for a click from someone who will not be buying your products. Think carefully about which countries you can sell effectively too and only advertise to them.
Mistake Two: Don't advertise around the Clock.
Unless you are a truly Global company, there will probably only be certain times of the day when you customers are actively online. Therefore you really should be using the Ad Scheduling feature in the Campaign Settings. Pick your customers good times and don't advertise when they are active.
Mistake Three: Going for cheaper clicks on the Content Network.
Many first time users discover the content network and they can usually see much cheaper clicks. So in the mad desire for clicks at any price they pour more and more budget into the content networks. However the truth is that these networks rarely give anything like the conversion to customers that the search networks give. They are usually a tyre kicker's paradise so it's usually best to just avoid them.
Mistake Four: Ignore Conversion Tracking.
Come on hands up now. Who hasn't implemented Conversion Tracking on the campaigns?
Would you cross the road with your eyes shut?
Getting a great click through rate for a keyword is one thing but if that keyword doesn't give you any conversions to customers, is it such a great keyword?
Implement Conversion Tracking today and be prepared to be amazed at which keywords are really bringing in customers. You'll also discover the one that are bleeding you dry for no return.
Mistake Five: Too few keywords.
So many Adwords users set up their campaigns with the first one hundred or so keywords they can think of for their business.
The problem is that your competitors are doing exactly the same thing and you can bet they have come up with the same hundred keywords. So competition is going to be fierce.
You really should aim for thousands of keywords. People are getting more and more creative about the keywords they are putting into the search engines. They are actually using whole sentences rather than a keyword or two. So there is a massive wealth of untapped keywords out there just waiting for you. Unless of course I get there first!
Mike Seddon is the founder of KKSmarts. Their site contains many free guides including their Free SEO Training Online Course.
Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=Mike_Seddon

Tuesday, October 2, 2007

Golden Tips to Increase Your Adsense Earnings by Adsense Guru

What is the next job to do after joing adsense?
How to increase my earnings?
Every junior adsense publisher will search for the answers to above questions.It is natural because of their poor earnings from adsense.
We have to follow the great tips to increase our earnings. I have discussed the valuable tips to increase the adsense revenue. So apply them for your site or blog and generate more money from your website or blog.

The Golden tips are:
1) Select a top paying keyword to design the website.you have to select the keyword in such a way that it is related to your sites data.Use your top paying keyword in the Heading of your site and in the text.
2)Choose the keyword rich text to attract good ads on your page.
3)Optimize your website with different Adsense Optimization techniques that are available on net
4)Blend you Adsense ads into your web pages
5)Use Google's Custom Channels for each of the ad units on your site
6)Optimize each page for adsense
7)Use the full allowance of ads available to you on each page
8) Maximize your success with other google products like downloading firefox with google tool bar etc.....
9)Submit articles to different free article sites .with this u get many back links
10)Start exchanging Links with Other Webmasters
11)Add a blog to your site and ping weblogs.com
12)Submit your blog address to different blog search sites and directories
13)Start creating RSS feeds for your site and submit the feed URLs to the major RSS feed directories online.
14)Become an active commenter and get back links from different blogs
15) follow other SEO Techniques to get more traffic
16)Submit your site or blog to different search engines.They crawl your site and index them to search engines.Then you get free traffic to your site

Monday, October 1, 2007

Beating Adwords - Utterly Dominating Your Niche

Beating Adwords is a new eBook designed to help marketers profit from Google Adwords. Packed full of information and never before released tactics, Beating Adwords has been designed to help both beginners and marketing experts succeed.

This eBook boasts that it can help even beginners to earn up to $300 a day in just a few months but this does sound a little familiar. Like all sales pages for money profiting software and eBooks this promise is some times not really what it seems.

The key to Beating Adwords according to this new eBook is in knowing exactly how Google Adwords works and this eBooks explains this step by step in simple terminology. Beating Adwords also explains how to set up your Google Adwords campaigns and gives detailed step by step instructions to ensure that you get the best return for your money. Another plus to this eBook is that it also explains how to use Adwords even if you don't have a website or products to sell which is an added bonus for most newcomers to internet marketing.

For the more advanced internet marketer, Beating Adwords explains how to beating your competition and includes information on CTR and how to achieve a CTR of 20 to 30%. There is also a great deal of information on how to compete with the marketing guru's that have plenty of money, resources and time to spend on their Adwords campaigns.

All in all, I have to say that Beating Adwords is an excellent step by step library of Adwords information and a great read for both beginners and intermediate internet marketers. Complete with detailed information on setting up, running, and profiting from Adwords this eBook really is a must for anyone setting up their own Adwords campaign.

About the Author: John Ducharne has reviewed several internet marketing products that have increased his bottom line including Beating Adwords. Check out his Beating Adwords review for more info.

Wednesday, September 19, 2007

Overview of Google Adwords

One of the fastest ways to get your website in front of your target customer is to use Google Adwords. Google Adwords is Pay Per Click (PPC) advertising. Using PPC wisely, you can transform a no-traffic website into a high-traffic profit machine literally overnight. However, you can also waste a whole lot of money if you don't plan your PPC campaign carefully.

Let me fist explain what PPC advertising is. Basically, it's a form of advertising in which you create a small 2-3 line text-based advertisement. The ad will have a headline, which is clickable and links to your website.
Here's an example:

Top Cruise Deals
Great deals on all types of cruises.
30% discounts for online purchases.

You can see examples of these ads in action by going to Google.com and running a search on any search term. After you run your search, you'll find the PPC ads on the right-hand side of the screen. The owners of each of the ads pay Google a fee each time someone clicks on their ad. This fee can be anywhere from .10 cents to several dollars depending on the popularity and demand of the keyword.

The goal of the ad owner is to maximize the number of quality clicks. A quality click is a click from someone that has an interest in what you're trying to sell. A low-quality click is a click from someone that really doesn't have any interest in what you're trying to sell.

Since the space in the Google Sponsored Links area is limited (about 10 slots per page), and the number of people using PPC to advertise their products is fairly large, there has to be a way of controlling who gets what placement (also called Adrank) in the Sponsored Links hierarchy.

Google controls this placement by 3 mechanisms:

1) Keywords/keyphrases
2) Bid price
3) Quality Score

The goal is to get your ad in the Sponsored Links section of the first page (or at most the second page) of the returned Google search results. That means your ad can be anywhere in the Sponsored Links position from 1-10, or 1-20 if you take into account the second page. People don’t normally search beyond the first couple of pages of returned search results, so having your ad appear on the third page (or beyond) diminishes your chances of the ad being seen.

To get your ad in the first or second page of Google’s Sponsored Links, and to maximize the number of quality clicks, you need 3 things:

1) Good Keywords/keyphrases
2) Bid in an active bid range
3) Good Quality Score

Using Good Keywords/Keyphrases

Keywords (or keyphrases) are the words that people type into Google when they run a search. You need to select the keywords that relate to your product so Google will know when to display your ad. From your perspective (the online Marketer), good keywords are the words that relate to your product. For example, if you run a Google PPC ad campaign and you're selling a course on how to train dogs, then a good keyword list might consist of:

"Dog training"
"Train my dog"
"Training for dogs"
"dog obedience"
"dog growling"

Note: using quotes instructs Google to show your ad only when the searched keywords appear in that particular order.

The above keyword list is then applied to your Google PPC campaign. Now, every time a user runs a search for any of these keywords on Google, your ad COULD be returned in the 'Sponsored Links' section of the returned search results in Google.

As we mentioned previously, the keywords are not the only determining factor governing which ads appear in Google. Keep in mind, there are likely many other people running their own PPC campaigns that have the same keywords as you. And since there are only about 10 slots to place the sponsored ads in Google's first page, the ads that get a position in one of those 10 slots are the ads that are willing to pay the most for each click and the ads that have the higher Quality Score.

A good way to find keywords for your product is to use the Google Adwords Keyword Finder at: https://adwords.google.com/select/main?cmd=KeywordSandbox

Bidding in an Active Bid Range

All popular (and many not so popular) keywords have an active bid range. The active bid range is the cost per click (CPC) range that results in your ad appearing in a preferred position within Google’s Sponsored Links area (usually position 1-20). Obviously, the higher your ad is in the position, the more active (more clicks) will likely result.

So how much should you pay for each click to make sure you're ad is in the actice bid range? You should first find out what the going rate is for that particular keyword. You can get a good idea of what people are willing to pay for a given keyword by using Overture’s Bid Tool at: http://uv.bidtool.overture.com/d/search/tools/bidtool/

Note: your goal is to get a position anywhere on the first page of the Google search result, or second page at most, so you really don’t have to make sure you have the highest bid. In fact, you can even make more money by bidding much lower than the highest bid. For example, say you’re bidding on the “dog training” keyphrase and you find that the 1st position for that keyphrase is going for $1.50 per click. You may very well find that the 4th or 5th position is going for $0.30 - $0.40 per click. In this case, I would opt for the 4th or 5th position. The cost savings is quite significant.

Getting High Quality Score

What is a Quality Score? Well, it’s a few things... The Quality Score is derived from the keywords Click Through Rate (CTR), relevance of the text in the ad to the keyword, how well the keywords has performed in the past, and other things that Google has kindly decided not to share. Since there are some unknown factors here, it’s best to focus on what you can do to increase your Quality Score.

One thing you can do is aim for a high Click Through Rate (CTR). A CTR is a percentage that is calculated by dividing the number of clicks by the number of times your ad appeared. For example, say your ad appeared 100 times, and out of those 100 times, 1 person clicked on your ad. Your CTR for that ad would then be 1/100=1%.

Another thing you can do is make sure your ad's text is relevant to the keyword. For example, if you were advertising a dog training course and your keyword was “cars”, then the relevancy of the keyword to the ad is low.

All right, that’s the basics of Google Adwords. Give it a try! There's no better way to learn than through doing!


Michael Ellis

About the Author: Michael Ellis is an Internet technology expert that specializes in marketing products and services online. Be sure to visit Michael's website http://www.VictoryKey.com for FREE Internet Marketing articles, tips and discussion forums.

Thursday, August 9, 2007

Locating the Rank of Your Google AdWords Ad

A Google AdWords advertiser asks in Google Groups if there is an easy way to locate his ad. He says that he located his ad on the 55th page of ads, and that required him to press "Next" 54 times. Is there an easier way?

AdWordsPro says that advertisers should not manually hunt for their ads, but rather that they should look at their campaign statistics.

I would suggest relying on your account statistics, rather than continually searching for your ad. When you look at the statistics for your keywords in the ad group view, you will see a column for Avg Pos, or Average Position. This is a factual and accurate accounting of the average of all your ad's actual positions, for all it's appearances, per keyword, during the date range at which you are looking.

The other option is to use the ad preview page where advertisers can view their ad along with competitors' ads without accruing any impressions.

But member Emmanuel makes a good point as well. Why is he on the 55th page? That's extremely far off. Are the keywords too broad?

If your ad is at the 55th page, you're either selling a VERY common product, or advertising on too broad keywords.

Forum discussion at Google Groups.

Tuesday, July 31, 2007

Inside AdWords: Introducing ad scheduling

Inside AdWords: Introducing ad scheduling

Earn Big Money With The Google Adsense

Most of the Internet marketing community is at least somewhat familiar with Google Adsense. Google Adsense can be a very lucrative venture for some... So having a better understanding of Adsense is definitely worth your time if you're interested in large affiliate revenues requiring minimal effort.

Google Adsense Ads are small contextual ads that are published on web sites with the consent of the web site's owner. The ads are created by publishers that are selling products and/or creating brand awareness. The ads that are created are called Adwords and they are also a Google sponsored program.

Google Adwords and Adsense run hand in hand. Every time someone does a search on Google or one of their partner networks and clicks on one of the sponsored ads, the person who created that ad will pay Google a predetermined price. This is also known as "pay per click" advertising.

Now the beauty of Adsense is that the person who owns or hosts the web site that the Adwords ads appear on will split the amount of money that Google receives from the creator of the ad. It is a well guarded secret what the percentage of the split is, and it does vary, but for our purposes let's say it's 50%.

If a publisher is willing to pay 40 cents per click for his Adwords ad, then the host of the website that publishes Adsense ads can expect to see roughly 20 cents every time someone clicks on that ad that appears on their site. The other 20 cents is kept by Google. So basically it is a partnership of sorts between Google and web site publisher/owner.

Adsense is shown in the most relevant way possible. What does this mean? Well, probably the best way to illustrate this would be through an example. Let's say Mary had a website featuring women's clothing. If Mary wanted to monetize her web site with Google Adsense the ads that would be shown would all be related to clothing, and more precisely, women's clothing. If a page of her site was dedicated to shoes, then the Adsense ads appearing on that page would be for women's shoes.

So how is the price per click determined? This is where the Adwords side of the equation kicks in. Adwords advertisers bid on keywords. The more lucrative or sought after a keyword is, the more the advertiser will be willing to pay for each click. Keywords range anywhere from a few cents to in excess of $50 per click!

It's not hard to see how someone with a web site that generates a decent amount of traffic can make some nice money by putting Google Adsense on their site. Many Internet marketers will create web sites with specific content for the sole purpose of attracting high paying Adsense ads. Top Internet marketers earn in excess of $10,000 a month with Adsense, and you can too. It's free to sign up and give it a try so do it today!

Get started with Adsense on your website and start earning money today! Visit: http://www.TheInternetMarketingWebsite.com/adsense.html
For More Highly Effective Internet Marketing Tactics Visit The Internet Marketing Website. Get Free Internet Marketing Tips, Tools and Techniques: http://www.TheInternetMarketingWebsite.com

Article Source: http://www.answer-site.com

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